Storytimes and Traditions

Wow. It’s the first chance I’ve had to post in…awhile.  I’m listening to Westin trying to get himself back to sleep upstairs and thinking about his top teeth coming in, wondering if I should go up there….gah! I’m so good at second-guessing myself sometimes I should get paid for it.

Anyway, today was a pretty darn good day. Incredibly, incredibly long. Not bad long, it just literally felt like forever from the time we got home this evening from picking up Jeremy at work to bedtime. Time just moved slowly. We started our day with a trip to Puma and gPa’s to drop off Westin, and for Noah to play for a while. Then it was off to our first Storytime in far too long, just Noah and me. I think he’s been needing some one-on-one time and attention without Westin. When we got to the library, I was surprised we had made it in time. The next thing that surprised me was how incredibly easy (and fast!) it is to get out of the car and into a building in the rain with just one child in tow.  It was fun to be able to run holding hands in the rain, laughing at the chilly rain drops on our faces. When we got inside, yet another surprise awaited many of the children came dressed in their Halloween costumes. Oops! Noah didn’t seem to mind, but maybe wondered to himself why this storytime had a dinosaur, pumpkin and Scooby-Doo. While we were there, it took a loooong time for him to warm up. He really just wanted to sit on my lap the entire time and was content to just listen to the stories and watch the dances. Except for the “Dance any way you want to” song….Not sure who it is by or what it’s called but it’s kind of a young freeze dance. Anyway, he did a shy fast robot dance and a shy slow robot dance, and of course, that was right at the end, so by the time he felt comfortable enough to dance, it was time to go! We got to check out some books and I got a CD of kid songs and dances like the one from storytime. I’m sure he and Sarah will have a lot of fun with that tomorrow!  When we got back to Puma and gPa’s, he was more than excited to play and show them the truck book he picked out (and insisted on going to sleep with tonight) and to play. My dad made lunch, and I swear he has secrets and tricks up his sleeve for in the kitchen. Things always taste a little better when he makes them. Anyway, he made tomato soup and grilled cheese, which was just perfect for the weather we had today. After lunch, it was time to go home and put the boys down for a nap. Ahhhhh! My favorite time of day =) 

After his bath and after getting ready for bed, Noah got to watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown”. I can already tell that this Christmas season of movies is going to be a lot of fun. He laughed and giggled those great little kid giggles during the movie, I couldn’t get enough. The best is when he reenacts scenes and does the voices. I don’t know where he comes up with this stuff, but this kid cracks me up! What a hoot!

After Noah went to bed, I got to work getting things organized for his little last-minute-Halloween-party for him and Sarah tomorrow.  There is something to be said for a mom that stamps/makes cards.  Well, besides “Thank You”, because I’m not that mom, but thanks to my mom, the kids now have ink pads and Halloween stamps to use to decorate the ghosts I cut out for the front of their treat bags. So, thanks mom! =) Anyway, I am really hoping that they have fun with it and it doesn’t turn out to be one of those “it was more fun to plan and look forward to than the disaster it actually turned out to be”kinds of things.  I’m sure their costumes will be off more than they are on, and as I was preparing everything for them for tomorrow, making sure things were identical and even to avoid any arguments, from sticker sheets to the candy that goes into the bags, I couldn’t help but think that soon it will be for Noah and Westin that I will have to take the same precautions.

Westin’s not crawling yet. Not talking, not walking. I’m pretty sure right now is the easiest I’m going to have it with these two for a long time. For now, he’s pretty content sitting on the floor and playing with toys and/or watching his brother play.  It’s not only for that reason that I don’t want him, or his brother, to grow up too fast. But something about watching Noah watch Charlie Brown tonight and reading some of “Chicken Soup for the Mother of Preschooler’s Soul” that just reminds me just how great their innocence is, how the sweet and infectious tone of that little kid laughter is, and how I have to just soak it up now while I can, because before long, it will be Noah and Westin passing on the tradition from when I was a kid: baths done, teeth brushed and ready for bed before we all watch a special holiday movie together as a family. I’m so excited and blessed to be making such great memories that I hope they remember too.

Leave a comment